The Next Chapter - North-East


Next Chapter branch banner

North-East Branch

The North-East Branch anchors a highly diverse Kansas City neighborhood brimming with immigrants and families – many with young children and teens. Its activities include a weekly preschool story time, chair fitness and healthy-heart line dancing popular with seniors, and multiple books clubs for readers of both English and Spanish. Dating to 1914, when it was housed in Northeast High School, the branch serves as a community center for the area and a meeting place for various neighborhood organizations.

Look for these icons with each project to help identify how it supports the Library's Next Chapter:

Increase Access icon

Increase access to materials & programs.

Expand Outreach icon

Expand outreach to the community.

Upgrade Digital icon

Upgrade computers and digital resources.

Improve Facilities icon

Renovate and replace aging facilities.

PROJECT STATUS:

Completed icon

Completed

Ongoing icon

Ongoing

PROGRAMING & EXHIBIT ENHANCEMENT

Ongoing Project

Provide more quality programs, events, and exhibits to our patrons.

Estimated date of completion: Ongoing

Increase access to materials and programs    Expand outreach to the community

Top

NEW COPY-SCAN-FAX MACHINES

Completed

Install new multipurpose copy-scan-fax machines in all branches.

Estimated date of completion: March 2019

Upgrade computers and digital resources

Top

NORTH-EAST RENOVATION

Completely renovate the North-East building.

Estimated date of completion: December 2020

Increase access to materials and programs    Expand outreach to the community    Upgrade computers and digital resources    Renovate and replace aging facilities

Top

EXPANDED HOURS

Completed

Remain open later on weekends, providing a safe space for youth and others.

Estimated date of completion: September 6, 2019

Blog: "We're Here (Longer) for You"

Increase access to materials and programs

Top