Darren Shan & the Demonata

Just in time for Halloween, bestselling young adult author Darren Shan discussed his many books on October 22 at the Plaza Branch. Discover Shan’s freaky worlds filled with vampires and demons.

The Demonata Series | The Saga of Darren Shan Series

The Demonata Series

Lord Loss (Book 1)
This is the first novel in a horror series from the author of Cirque Du Freak. Grubbs Grady opts out of a family trip, never anticipating that he's about to take a terrifying journey into darkness where demons and werewolves haunt his waking nightmares.

Demon Thief (Book 2)
Kernel Fleck sees lights – strange, multicolored patches of light. It's not until a window opens into a demon world, with horrific consequences, that Kernel discovers his powers. As a Disciple, his mission is to hunt vicious, powerful demons to the death in this follow-up to Lord Loss.

Slawter (Book 3)
While a new cult horror film is being shot in a deserted town renamed Slawter, Grubbs Grady and his half-brother Bill-E are thrilled to serve as onset consultants. However, as strange incidents disrupt the set, the crew begins to wonder whether more than a filming is afoot.

Bec book jacket

Bec (Book 4)
As demonic Fomorii ravage their land, Bec and a band of warrior companions leave to answer a plea for help. An orphaned priestess-in-training, Bec hopes the journey will help her solve the mystery of her birth.

Blood Beast (Book 5)
Grubbs Grady has so far escaped the family curse, but when he begins to experience alarming symptoms at the onset of the full moon, he is scared. Can he fight the beast inside or will he fall victim to his tainted blood?

Demon Apocalypse (Book 6)
For the past year Grubbs Grady has done everything to fight off Lord Loss in a desperate attempt to protect what is left of his family and friends, but this time he's played right into the eight-armed grasp of the demon master. Can Grubbs shut out Lord Loss forever?

The Saga of Darren Shan Series

Cirque Du Freak book jacket

Cirque Du Freak (Book 1)
This is the frightening saga of a young boy whose visit to a mysterious freak show leads him on a journey into a dark world of vampires. Author Darren Shan's vivid detail and original voice will have young readers glued to their seats in terror. Filled with grotesque creatures, murderous vampires, and a petrifying ending, Cirque Du Freak will chill, thrill, and leave readers begging for more.

The Vampire's Assistant (Book 2)
In this compelling sequel, The Vampire's Assistant continues the saga of Darren Shan as he resists the one temptation that sickens him . . . the one thing that can keep him alive.

Tunnels of Blood (Book 3)
Darren, the vampire's assistant, gets a taste of the city when he leaves the Cirque Du Freak with Evra the snake-boy and Mrs. Crepsley. Soon, corpses are discovered drained of blood, and Darren and Evra must confront a foul creature who may mean the end of them all.

Vampire Mountain book jacket

Vampire Mountain (Book 4)
Book 4 in the series finds Darren and Mr. Crepsley on a dangerous trek to the very heart of the vampire world.

Trials of Death (Book 5)
The trials: 17 ways to die unless the luck of the vampire is with you. Darren Shan must pass five fearsome trials to prove himself to the vampire clan – or else face the stakes of the Hall of Death.

The Vampire Prince (Book 6)
Branded a traitor, betrayed by a friend, and hunted by the vampire clan, Darren Shan, the Vampire's assistant, faces certain death. Can Darren reverse the odds and outwit a Vampire Prince?

Hunters of the Dusk book jacket

Hunters of the Dusk (Book 7)
In the seventh entry of this New York Times bestselling series, Darren Shan, part of an elite force, searches the world of the Vampaneze Lord. But the road ahead is long and dangerous.

Allies of the Night (Book 8)
Vampire prince and "vampaneze" killer Darren Shan faces his worst nightmare yet – school – but homework is the least of Darren's problems. Bodies are piling up. Time is running out, and the past is catching up with the hunters fast.

Killers of the Dawn (Book 9)
With their enemies clamoring for blood, the vampires prepare for a deadly battle – and Darren Shan is framed as public enemy number one in this ninth installment of the series.

The Lake of Souls book jacket

The Lake of Souls (Book 10)
Darren and Harkat face monstrous obstacles on their desperate quest to the Lake of Souls. Will they survive the savage journey? What awaits them in the murky waters of the dead?

Lord of the Shadows (Book 11)
Darren Shan is going home--and his world is going to hell. Old enemies await. Scores must be settled. Destiny looks certain to destroy him, and the world is doomed to fall to the Ruler of the Night.

Sons of Destiny (Book 12)
The series finale brings Darren face-to-face with his archenemy, Steve Leopard. One of them will die. The other will become the Lord of the Shadows and destroy the world. Is the future written, or can Darren trick destiny?

Book descriptions provided by BookLetters.