Kansas City Public Library

Site Only Catalog Only
  The War & Terrorism Guide  

Remembering the 65th Anniversary of Pearl Harbor

On the morning of Dec. 7, 1941, a Japanese aircraft carrier force launched a surprise aerial raid on Pearl Harbor and other US military installations in the Hawaiian Islands. The devastating attack killed 2,403 American servicemen and 68 civilians, destroyed one battleship and severely damaged seven others, damaged nine other warships and destroyed 188 aircraft. But it also united a previously divided nation, and President Franklin D. Roosevelt signed the Declaration of War against Japan and on the following day.

As America marks the 65th anniversary of this “day that shall live in infamy,” we invite you to check out some of the many books, videos and other reference materials the Kansas City Public Library has available on the subject.

Did You Know | Books on Pearl Harbor | Pearl Harbor Films | Links

Did You Know?

  • The United States imposed an oil and trade embargo on Japan because of its invasion of China. This embargo became the casus belli or Japan's justification to attack the United States at Pearl Harbor, Hawaii on December 7, 1941 at 7:53 a.m.
  • Twenty-one ships of the U.S. Navy's pacific fleet were damaged or destroyed. This was more than the total lost during WWI.
  • Of the 8 battleships in the harbor, the USS Arizona was destroyed. Though the others were sunk, capsized, or beached, 6 of them were repaired and returned to service.
  • Approximately 2,400 servicemen and 68 civilians died with an additional 1,200 servicemen injured.
  • President Franklin Roosevelt called this "a date which will live in infamy." This attack brought the United States into World War II.
  • At the time of the attack, some of the crew of the battleship Pennsylvania were dressed in football gear because they were to play the battleship Arizona for the fleet championship that day. Both of these battleships were bombed.
  • Thomas Hart Benton, a nationally known Kansas City artists, was deeply moved by the attack on Pearl Harbor and in response, created a 10-panel "The Year of Peril," a series of grim and powerful war paintings.

Top

Books on Pearl Harbor...need more?
From memoirs to strategy and from patriotic recounts to conspiracy theories, the Kansas City Public Library has dozens of books available on the subject of Pearl Harbor and World War II. Browse them here or check out our online catalog. Put a hold on the books you want. We’ll let you know when they are available and have them waiting for you when you get here.

At Dawn We Slept: The Untold Story of Pearl Harbor by Gordon William Prange
At 7:53 a.m., December 7, 1941, America's national consciousness and confidence were rocked as the first wave of Japanese warplanes took aim at the U.S. Naval fleet stationed at Pearl Harbor. As intense and absorbing as a suspense novel, At Dawn We Slept is the unparalleled and exhaustive account of the Japanese bombing of Pearl Harbor. It is widely regarded as the definitive assessment of the events surrounding one of the most daring and brilliant naval operations of all time.

Image of Reflections of Pearl Harbor:  An Oral History of December 7, 1941Reflections of Pearl Harbor: An Oral History of December 7, 1941 by K. D. Richardson
This collection of memories, told in the participants' own words, gathers accounts from both military personnel and civilians, children and adults, from different ethnic backgrounds and from all over the US. Together, these ordinary Americans paint a portrait of a nation stunned, but determined to rise again.

Day of Deceit: The Truth About FDR and Pearl Harbor by Robert B. Stinnett
Pearl Harbor was not an accident, a mere failure of American intelligence, or a brilliant Japanese military coup. It was the result of a carefully orchestrated design, initiated at the highest levels of our government. According to a key memorandum, eight steps were taken to make sure we would enter the war by this means. Pearl Harbor was the only way, leading officials felt, to galvanize the reluctant American public into action.

Eyewitness to Infamy: An Oral History of Pearl Harbor by Paul J. Travers
Eyewitness accounts cover the full range of military activity on the island, along battleship row, and around the harbor, while portraying the human side of the event--the heroic, the tragic, and the terrible reality of the assault.

Top

Pearl Harbor Films...need more?
Whether you are looking for education, entertainment or both, the Kansas City Public Library has a great selection of videos about Pearl Harbor and World War II for you to choose from. Browse them here or check out our online catalog.

FeatureImage of From Here to Eternity.

From Here to Eternity
Drama about life in the Army in the days prior to World War II. Shows the effect of Army discipline on an individualistic former boxing champion who defies the attempts of officers and men to break him when he refuses to fight on the company's boxing team. Includes actual scenes of the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor.

In Harm's Way
Epic treatment of the bombing of Pearl Harbor and the attack on the naval base.

Non-Feature
December 7th: Pearl Harbor
John Ford's film unit was given the task of showing the attack on Pearl Harbor. Few cameras were on hand to record the attack, so Ford re-created many of the major scenes on Hollywood sound stages. This special edition presents a fully restored version of the film, with bonus material.

The Pearl Harbor Child Recalls: Eyewitness Stories of the Pearl Harbor Attack, December 7, 1941
Hawaiian children listen to the author's story about Pearl Harbor. Also four survivors share their stories.

Image of Pearl Harbor:  Legacy of Attack.Pearl Harbor: Legacy of Attack
Includes: an exploration of the still unsolved mysteries and startling true stories from behind the 'day of infamy' that plunged the United States into World War II; a search for a sunken Japanese midget submarine; eyewitness accounts by both American and Japanese survivors; and images captured inside the sunken hull of the battleship Arizona.

Top

Links

National Parks Service - "A Nation Remembers"
National Parks Service
- USS Arizona
Navel Historical Center - FAQs: The Pearl Harbor Attack, 7 December 1941
Naval Station Pearl Harbor - Official U.S. Navy web site
National Geographic - Remembering Pearl Harbor
Pearl Harbor Attacked
The History Place - Pearl Harbor, Hawaii
Minute-by-Minute Account of the Attack

This information was compiled by utilizing the following resources: The Kansas City Public Library Databases: Proquest, Ebsco Host: Military & Government Collection, and Wikipedia's: Attack on Pearl Harbor.

Top

MORE ARTICLES
Great Plains History and Fiction
Events and Exhibits: Related Reading
Vietnam War Resource Guide
Richard Rhodes Booklist
Pearl Harbor Films
Five Years Later: A Reader's Guide to 9-11 and its Aftermath
Biographies Relating to September 11, 2001 and its Aftermath
How Do I Find Information on September 11, 2001?
9/11: Documentaries and Movies
Readings on Afghanistan: Its History, Its People, The War
More Articles -->

       

What is this?
LINKS
Database
 All Library Databases
 Military & Government Collection
 Newsbank Special Reports
 ProQuest

Resources
 Ask A Librarian
 Comments
 Library Contacts

Website
 American Red Cross
 Battle of Lexington State Historic Site/Anderson House
 Biodefense and Bioterrorism
 Center for Defense Information
 Council on Foreign Relations
 Fort Leavenworth, Ks
 Fort Osage Museum
 Liberty Memorial Museum and Archives
 Lone Jack Civil War Battlefield Museum and Soldiers Cemetery
 National Commission on Terrorist Attacks
 National Geographic
 Ready.Gov
 The September 11 Digital Archive
 US Department of Homeland Security

contact | calendar of events | my account | acceptable use policy | help
Kansas City Public Library : 14 West 10th Street : Kansas City, MO 64105
© 2004 kansas city public library